Exercise – Simple perspective in interior studies

For this exercise I chose a slightly different viewpoint from one of the sketches that I had made for the previous exercises. I raised the viewpoint slightly by using a higher chair and also moved the viewpoint outwards to give more information and to better locate the chair in its place in the room.

I started with a very quick sketch and made notes.

Sketch for Exercise, simple perspective in interior studies

I decided to use an A3 acrylic paper and chose not to create a ground. First step was to draw the main lines to try to get the perspective correct. This was followed by a more detailed drawing onto which I would paint directly. I first painted the outline of the chair and then moved around the painting creating lines close to the colour I expected to use. Despite this being an exercise in line and perspective I still felt the need to try to create a painting that tried to show some feeling and light.

I completed the painting and after some consideration made some small adjustments to a few lines. The final painting is below. I feel that I have met the brief of the exercise and also created a painting that looks convincing. However there are a couple of sections where the perspective looks slightly off. The main section where I feel this occurs is the small table on the lower right hand side.

Exercise, Simple perspective in interior studies

 

Leave a comment